Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Beidle, District 32 Delegates File for Re-Election Together

As promised after a Democratic challenger entered the Maryland Senate race in late July, the lawmakers representing District 32 in Anne Arundel County filed for re-election as a four-person team this week.

Sen. Pamela G. Beidle (D- Anne Arundel), who is wrapping up her first term in the Senate after three terms in the House of Delegates, said earlier this month that the slate would seek re-election together after Democratic Anne Arundel County Councilmember Sarah F. Lacey announced her primary challenge.

Beidle and Dels. J. Sandy Bartlett, Mark S. Chang and Michael J. Rogers filed the paperwork at the State Board of Elections on Tuesday.

Beidle serves on the Senate Finance Committee and is vice chair of the Executive Nominations Committee.

Chang is vice chair of the House Appropriations Committee; Bartlett, an attorney, sits on the House Judiciary Committee and is chair of the Anne Arundel County House Delegation; Rogers serves on the House Economic Matters Committee and is vice chair of the county’s House delegation.

District 32 includes portions of northwest Anne Arundel County, including the portions of the communities of Glen Burnie, Laurel, Linthicum and Severn.

Beidle ran unopposed in the 2018 Democratic primary.

All four members of the slate won with wide majorities over Republican opponents in the 2018 general election.

Lacey, a 40-year-old attorney who was elected to the county council in 2018, filed to run for Senate on July 28. She said the state’s COVID-19 response and the desire to see a “broader vision of what can be accomplished through state law” prompted the run.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Beidle, District 32 Delegates File for Re-Election Together