Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Md. GOP Chairman Is Reelected at Weekend State Convention

The Maryland Republican Party elected a new slate of officers at its semi-socially distanced semi-annual convention Saturday at the Maryland Live! Casino in Hanover.

Incumbent Dirk Haire was reelected to a third term as state GOP chairman. Haire received 66% of the vote in a three-way race that included Brandon Cooper, who had been the first vice chairman.

Haire, who is married to Anne Arundel County Councilmember Jessica Haire (R), spent several years as counsel to the state GOP before becoming party chairman in 2016.

Nicole Bennett, a resident of Charles County, was elected first vice chairwoman. Bennett is a health care professional who serves as chairwoman of the Maryland Republican Party’s Black Republican Council.

Al Mendelsohn, who has served on the Baltimore County Republican Central Committee for 22 years, was elected second vice chairman. Mendelsohn owns an insurance business in Reisterstown.

Chris Tomlinson, a resident of Carroll County who works for the Maryland Transit Administration, was elected third vice
chairman, while Mark Uncapher was reelected to a third term as Maryland GOP secretary, while Chris Rosenthal was reelected to a sixth term as state GOP treasurer. He is also the campaign treasurer for Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. (R).

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected]

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Md. GOP Chairman Is Reelected at Weekend State Convention