Skip to main content
Blog Health Care

Eight New Appointees Named to UMMS, Completing Board Overhaul

Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. (R) named eight new appointees to the beleaguered University of Maryland Medical System board, including three returning members.

The appointments complete an overhaul of the board which was mandated by legislation earlier this year after former Baltimore mayor Catherine E. Pugh’s “Healthy Holly” self-dealing scandal as a member of the board came to light.

The new appointees will begin terms on Jan. 1. Other new appointees began terms in July and October.

The legislation passed this year allows outgoing board members to apply for reappointment this year, and Hogan’s most recent appointments include three returning members:

• James “Chip” DiPaula, co-founder of Flywheel Digital and executive vice president of Compass Marking, who previously served as a state budget secretary and as chief of staff to former Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. (R). DiPaula was elected as the board’s interim chairman in June.

• Alexander Williams Jr., a retired federal judge and former Prince George’s County state’s attorney, is the interim vice chairman and was re-nominated to his position as a representative of the University of Maryland Capital Region Health. Williams is board chairman of Capital Region Health and practices law with the law firm Silverman Thompson Slutkin & White. He also chairs the Commission to Restore Trust in Policing, which aims to address corruption in the Baltimore Police Department.

• R. Alan Butler, CEO of Erickson Living, was re-nominated by the University of Maryland Medical Center to serve as its representative on the board.

The new members are:

• Brianna D. Bowling, founder of Zekiah Technologies and a member of the Finance Committee for Charles Regional Medical Center, who was nominated to represent the University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center.

• James M. Harkins, who was nominated by University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health to serve as its representative on the UMMS Board. Harkins is a board member of Upper Chesapeake Health and a former Harford County Executive and Maryland legislator.

• Keary M. Nance, an administrative officer with the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, who was appointed by Hogan.

• Edward P. Nevin, the managing partner at Deloitte LLP, who was appointed by Hogan.

• R. Kent Schwab, who was nominated by the University of Maryland Baltimore Washington Medical Center, where he is chairman of that board.

In the wake of the scandal, a half-dozen board members resigned and five members of top management left UMMS. The board also adopted a new conflict of interest policy and committed to other “good government” reforms.

[email protected]





Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Eight New Appointees Named to UMMS, Completing Board Overhaul