Skip to main content
Blog Education

Six Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools Announced

Six schools in Maryland received a top state honor on Tuesday.

Five elementary schools and one middle school were designated as Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools:

  • Cash Valley Elementary School, Allegany County;
  • Jacksonville Elementary School, Baltimore County;
  • Hampstead Elementary School, Carroll County;
  • Mount View Middle School, Howard County;
  • Lucy V. Barnsley Elementary School, Montgomery County; and
  • Bayside Elementary School, Queen Anne’s County.

The schools chosen for the honor were announced by Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. (R) and State Superintendent of Schools Karen B. Salmon at a State House event Tuesday morning.

Each of the schools chosen for the state honor are among the top 15 percent of all schools in Maryland based on state assessment scores in math and English language arts.

Once named a state Blue Ribbon School, the school can apply for recognition in the national program by the U.S. Department of Education.

For winning the state honor, the schools will receive a Maryland Blue Ribbon Flag, a monetary prize, $1,000 in office supplies, interactive technology equipment, and a school party. The schools will be honored in Annapolis by the Legislature in March.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected]

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Six Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools Announced