

## MARYLAND HOUSE REPUBLICAN CAUCUS

MINORITY LEADER JASON C. BUCKEL, DISTRICT IB

September 27, 2021

## MINORITY WHIP

## CHRISTOPHER T. ADAMS, DISTRICT 37B

CARL ANDERTON, IR., DISTRICT 38B STEVEN J. ARENTZ, DISTRICT 36 LAUREN ARIKAN, DISTRICT 7 WENDELL R. BEITZEL, DISTRICT IA IOSEPH BOTELER III, DISTRICT 8 BRIAN A. CHISHOLM, DISTRICT 31B BARRIE S. CILIBERTI, DISTRICT 4 JERRY CLARK, DISTRICT 29C DANIEL COX, DISTRICT 4 MARK N. FISHER, DISTRICT 27C JEFFERSON L. GHRIST, DISTRICT 36 ROBIN GRAMMER, DISTRICT 6 MIKE GRIFFITH, DISTRICT 35B WAYNE HARTMAN, DISTRICT 38C KEVIN B. HORNBERGER, DISTRICT 35A SETH A. HOWARD, DISTRICT 30B RICK IMPALLARIA, DISTRICT 7 JAY A. JACOBS, DISTRICT 36 NICHOLAUS R. KIPKE, DISTRICT 31B TRENT KITTLEMAN, DISTRICT 9A SUSAN W. KREBS, DISTRICT 5 ROBERT B. LONG, DISTRICT 6 MICHAEL E. MALONE, DISTRICT 33 NINO MANGIONE, DISTRICT 42B

JOHNNY MAUTZ, DISTRICT 37B

MIKE MCKAY, DISTRICT IC RIC METZGAR, DISTRICT 6

REID NOVOTNY, DISTRICT 9A

NEIL PARROTT, DISTRICT 2A

JESSE PIPPY, DISTRICT 4 TERESA E. REILLY, DISTRICT 35B APRIL ROSE, DISTRICT 5

SID SAAB, DISTRICT 33

CHARLES J. OTTO, DISTRICT 38A

HAVEN SHOEMAKER, DISTRICT 5

WILLIAM J. WIVELL, DISTRICT 2A

KATHY SZELIGA, DISTRICT 7 BRENDA I, THIAM, DISTRICT 2B

SUSAN K. MCCOMAS, DISTRICT 34B

MATTHEW MORGAN, DISTRICT 29A

## Sent via Electronic Communication

Dr. Shanaysha Sauls, Chair Accountability and Implementation Board Nominating Committee PUP Building, 4th Floor 1000 Hilltop Circle Baltimore, MD 21250

The Honorable Paul Pinsky, Vice Chair Accountability and Implementation Board Nominating Committee Miller Senate Office Building, 2 West 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Dr. Sauls and Senator Pinsky,

We write to echo the myriad of concerns regarding the list of nominees for the Accountability and Implementation Board and the process by which they were chosen.

While we do not dispute the overall qualifications of the nominees selected, we do have grave concerns over the lack of representation from the rural and exurban areas of the state. There are no nominees who live in or appear to have any significant connection to Western Maryland, the Eastern Shore, or Southern Maryland. Instead, the nominees are exclusive to Central Maryland; representing only Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Baltimore City, and Montgomery County. These large and predominantly urban areas face different sets of challenges in their school systems. To limit the members of the Accountability and Implementation Board only to those from Central Maryland suggests a one-size-fits-all approach from the outset – which will undoubtably be detrimental to its success and to the success of school systems across the state.

The process by which the nominees were selected also gives us pause. Technology has made government transparency incredibly easy and yet the majority of the five meetings the Nominating Committee held were closed sessions, including the voting session for the nominees. A commission selected to ensure accountability in a multi-billion-dollar school system should be constituted in full view of the public with the utmost transparency.

The lack of geographic diversity among the nominees, and the lack of transparency in the overall selection process leads us to respectfully request the Nominating Committee provide additional nominees for appointment to the Accountability and Implementation Board.

Very truly yours,

House Minority Leader

istopher T. Adams House Minority Whip