

MARYLAND LEGISLATIVE LATINO CAUCUS

Lowe House Office Building, 6 Bladen Street, Room 200 · Annapolis, Maryland 21401 Phone 410-841-3374 | 301-858-3374 · 800-492-7122 Ext. 3374 · Fax 410-841-3342 | 301-858-3342 latino.caucus@house.state.md.us · www.mdlatinocaucus.org

DAVID FRASER-HIDALGO, CHAIR
JOSELINE A. PEÑA-MELNYK, VICE-CHAIR
GABRIEL ACEVERO, TREASURER
JESSE T. PIPPY, SECRETARY
CESIAH FUENTES, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan 100 State Circle Annapolis, Maryland 21401

MEMBERS

ALFRED CARR
ALONZO WASHINGTON
ANNE HEALEY
ARIANA B. KELLY
BEN BARNES
BONNIE CULLISON
BROOKE LIERMAN
CATHERINE FORBES
CAROL L. KRIMM
CHARLOTTE CRUTCHFII

CAROL L. KRIMM
CHARLOTTE CRUTCHFIELD
CHERYL KAGAN
CRAIG ZUCKER
DAVID MOON
DIANA FENNELL
EMILY SHETTY
EREK BARRON
ERIC LUEDTKE

GERALDINE VALENTINO-

SMITH
HEATHER BAGNALL
J. SANDY BARTLETT
JAMES ROSAPEPE
JARED SOLOMON
JAZZ LEWIS
JEFF WALDSTREICHER
JEN TERRASA

JESSICA FELDMARK
JHEANELLE WILKINS
JIM GILCHRIST
JULIE PALAKOVICH CARR
JULIAN IVEY

JULIAN IVEY
KAREN LEWIS YOUNG
KEN KERR

LILY QI LORIG CHARKOUDIAN MAGGIE MCINTOSH MALCOLM AUGUSTINE

LESLEY LOPEZ

MARC KORMAN MARY A. LEHMAN MARY WASHINGTON MIKE ROGERS NICOLE WILLIAMS

PAMELA QUEEN REGINA T. BOYCE ROBBYN LEWIS SHANE PENDERGRASS SHELLY HETTLEMAN STEPHANIE SMITH SUSAN C. LEE

TERRI HILL
VAUGHN STEWART
WANIKA FISHER
WILL SMITH

Dear Governor Hogan,

September 3, 2021

The Blueprint for Maryland's Future Accountability and Implementation Board (AIB) presents a critical opportunity for educational reform, including the survey of funds that focus on increasing equity for underserved populations. That is why the Maryland Legislative Latino Caucus (MLLC) was disappointed by the AIB Nominations Committee's list of nominees that was released this week.

The legislation and the Board may be intended to help all Marylanders, however, there is a discernible lack of representation for Latino communities in Maryland. We know if we are not at the table, we are less likely to have a voice.

The new 2020 Census data is clear. The increase of the Latino population drove our nation's growth over the past decade; Latinos accounted for more than <u>50</u> percent of the country's augmented population numbers. A similar trend is seen in Maryland, where Latino residents are among the most <u>rapidly growing</u> demographic in our state.

In the last 10 years, the Latino population has grown from eight to nearly 12 percent in Maryland. Importantly, the Latino population encompasses a large and also growing segment of a young generation that is directly impacted by the Blueprint for Maryland's Future. Without adequate representation on the AIB, it will be difficult to sufficiently meet the needs of the Latino students whom this legislation is intended to support.

Additionally, Latino youth constitutes the largest <u>proportion</u> of English Language Learners, who are typically the children of parents of limited education and who experience disproportionate levels of <u>poverty</u>. They stand to benefit tremendously from the expenditures outlined in the

Blueprint.

If the Blueprint for Maryland's Future is to achieve its aims, there must be a consideration for the AIB to incorporate the representation that can ensure the unique interests of the Latino student population are being taken into account. We respectfully urge you to name a qualified Latino member as an addition to the AIB. This is a pivotal time for our students and our highest priority is affording them a future that is bright and successful. We would like to achieve this together

through an inclusive and equitable Accountability and Implementation Board.

If you are interested in discussing this matter further, I can be contacted at David.Fraser.Hidalgo@house.state.md.us, or you can reach out to our Executive Director, Cesiah Fuentes at Latino.Caucus@house.state.md.us. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

David Fraser-Hidalgo, Chair

Des Muson-18

cc:

Senator Paul Pinsky, Chair Blueprint for Maryland's Future of the Accountability and Implementation Board

Senate President Bill Ferguson

Speaker of the House Adrienne Jones