November 5, 2020

Speaker Pelosi, Leader McCarthy, Leader McConnell, and Leader Schumer:

We, the undersigned elected officials, strongly urge you to pass legislation that would prohibit states from invalidating ballots that are postmarked by Election Day.

We are deeply concerned by the president's repeated and varied calls for states not to count every vote, and we are deeply concerned about related actions taken by several states.

In the midst of a global pandemic that dramatically increased the safety risks of physically going to the polls to vote, several states decided to suppress voter turnout by creating rules that effectively invalidate mail in ballots that arrive after Election Day *even if* they are postmarked by Election Day. To be precise, there are 28 states that do not allow postmarked ballots to arrive after Election Day.

Simultaneously, the President of the United States has deliberately undermined the operations and sustainability of the United States Postal Service and impeded its capacity to process mail, including ballots, in a timely manner.

Thus, regardless of the outcome of the 2020 presidential election, it is clear that we need stronger federal protections for American voters so that every vote counts and so that states can no longer so blatantly suppress votes.

In America, our hope is that we are better than this.

Not counting votes is unacceptable.

Ignoring votes is unacceptable.

And voter disenfranchisement is unacceptable.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Mayor Colin Byrd Greenbelt, Maryland County Executive Angela Alsobrooks Prince George's County, Maryland

Comptroller Peter Franchot State of Maryland

Senator Cory McCray Maryland State Senate, District 45

Senator Sarah Elfreth Maryland State Senate, District 30

Senator Brian Feldman Maryland State Senate, District 15

Senator Paul Pinsky Maryland State Senate, District 22

Delegate Alonzo Washington Maryland House of Delegates, District 22

Delegate Julian Ivey Maryland House of Delegates, District 47A

Delegate Diana Fennell Maryland House of Delegates, District 47A

Delegate Sheila Ruth Maryland House of Delegates, District 44B

Councilmember Jolene Ivey Prince George's County, Maryland

Councilmember Danielle Glaros Prince George's County, Maryland

Councilmember Mel Franklin Prince George's County, Maryland

Ed Burroughs III Member -- Prince George's County Board of Education **David Murray**

Member -- Prince George's County Board of Education

Belinda Queen

Member -- Prince George's County Board of Education

Joshua Thomas

Member -- Prince George's County Board of Education

Mayor Shawn Maldon Capitol Heights, Maryland President, Maryland Black Mayors

Mayor Johnathan Medlock District Heights, Maryland

Mayor Craig Moe Laurel, Maryland

Mayor Jeffrey Slavin Somerset, Maryland

Raaheela Ahmed Member -- Prince George's County Board of Education

Mayor Lillie Thompson Martin Fairmount Heights, Maryland

Mayor Amanda Dewey Berwyn Heights, Maryland

Mayor Malinda Miles Mount Rainier, Maryland

Councilmember Jocelyn Route Bladensburg, Maryland

Commissioner Wanda Wheatley Cottage City, Maryland Commissioner Anne Young Cottage City, Maryland

Commissioner Artis Amarche Cottage City, Maryland

Commissioner Demetrius Givens Cottage City, Maryland

Commissioner Danielle Urey Cottage City, Maryland

Commissioner Consuella Barbour Cottage City, Maryland

Councilmember Danny Schaible Hyattsville, Maryland

cc: Senator Chris Van Hollen Senator Ben Cardin Leader Steny Hoyer