Who We Are

Co-founder and Editor Josh Kurtz is the leading chronicler of Maryland politics and government. He began covering the State House in 1995 for The Gazette newspapers, and has been writing about state and local politics ever since. He later became an editor at Roll Call, the Capitol Hill newspaper, and since August 2010 has worked at E&E News, an online subscription-only publisher of news websites covering energy and environmental issues. For seven years, he led a staff of 20 reporters at E&E Daily, which covers energy and environmental policy on Capitol Hill and in national politics. Now he covers politics for another E&E publication, Climatewire. He has given speeches and appeared on TV and radio shows about Maryland politics through the years.


Co-founder Louis Peck is the founding editor of National Journal’s CongressDaily, who, over nearly two decades, built the publication into essential reading for members of Congress and their staffs, along with lawyers, lobbyists, businesses, advocates and federal officials. He is now a contributing editor for Bethesda Magazine, providing comprehensive and sophisticated coverage of Montgomery County politics, and is a contributor to the Almanac of American Politics.


Co-founder Keith Haller is a veteran communications and political professional who has run his own public affairs and polling company in Bethesda for 30 years. He regularly offers independent analysis on Maryland elections and politics for the media, and his services and wisdom are regularly in demand by Fortune 500 companies, government leaders, political campaigns and nonprofit groups.


Associate Editor Angela Breck is best known for her 17 years as editor of the Maryland Independent in Charles County.  She also has been an editor of local editions of The Gazette newspapers in Montgomery and Prince George’s counties.  She is currently a contributor to The Lexington Park Leader in St. Mary’s County, and to Southern Maryland — This Is Living.


And we are pleased to have as featured contributors two award-winning reporters: Bruce DePuyt and William F. Zorzi.

DePuyt spent nearly three decades on local television, including 14 years as executive producer and host of “News Talk” on NewsChannel 8 in the Washington, D.C. area. He has served as reporter, anchor and producer/host of “21 This Week” in Montgomery County and as reporter/anchor at NBC affiliate WVIR-TV in Charlottesville, VA. He’s a regular contributor to WTOP (103.5 FM) and frequently moderates community and political events.

Zorzi was a Baltimore Sun reporter and editor for nearly 20 years, focusing on government and politics.  An Annapolis bureau veteran, he wrote a weekly column, “The Political Game” for the paper.

Zorzi and another former Sun reporter, David Simon, are longtime collaborators on acclaimed television projects, including the HBO series, “The Wire,” and the HBO miniseries “Show Me a Hero,” which dealt with an explosive housing desegregation case in Yonkers, NY.

We’re also pleased to have Meghan Thompson, a Harford County resident and sophomore at the University of Maryland, as one of our interns this year. Meghan is majoring in journalism and political science. Our other intern is another University of Maryland journalism student, Kaanita Iyer, a freshman who grew up in New York and New Jersey.

We also are getting regular contributions from Samuel Manas, a recent UMBC graduate who has interned at the Baltimore City Paper and WYPR-FM.


What’s more, we have an impressive Steering Committee. The members are:

–Hon. Michael Barnes, former Member of Congress

Angela Breck, former editor, Maryland Independent in Charles County

–Hon. Bill Bronrott, former state delegate; former senior official, U.S. Department of Transportation

Bonnie Casper, immediate past president, Maryland Association of Realtors

Tom Dennison, lobbyist and communications director, Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative; former State House bureau chief, Gazette Newspapers

Adrianne Flynn, University of Maryland journalism professor and former director of the University of Maryland Capital News Service

Len Foxwell, chief of staff, Maryland Comptroller’s Office

Andrew Friedson, former senior adviser, Maryland Comptroller’s Office

Curtis Johnson, founder and former director, New Leaders Council, Maryland chapter

Joel Kirkland, deputy editor, Energy Wire

–Howard Libit, executive director, Baltimore Jewish Council

Leonard Lucchi, attorney and lobbyist; former president, Maryland Government Relations Association

–Hon. Connie Morella, former Member of Congress

Adam Pagnucco, political commentator and strategist

Tyler Patton, vice president, Maryland Rural Broadband Coalition

–Hon. Jeffrey Slavin, Mayor, Somerset, Md.

Meg Thale, political fundraiser, former journalist and Capitol Hill aide

–Hon. Chris Trumbauer, Anne Arundel County councilman