State GOP Elects All-Male Executive Committee

    The Maryland Republican Party elected an all-male executive committee at its convention in Hanover on Saturday.

    Chairman Dirk Haire was unopposed for reelection.

    Haire, a Washington, D.C., lawyer who lives in Anne Arundel County, had been the state party’s top lawyer for more than a decade before taking over as chairman two years ago.

    In a three-way race, Brandon Cooper, the Prince George’s County Republican chairman, was elected first vice chairman of the state GOP — ousting the incumbent, Michael Higgs. Tony Campbell, a Towson University political science professor who was the GOP’s unsuccessful U.S. Senate nominee this year, was elected second vice chairman.

    Campbell was elected even though his opponent in the race, JoeyLynn Hough of Frederick, was the beneficiary of nominating speeches from David Bossie, the chairman of the group Citizens United, and state House Minority Whip Kathy Szeliga (R-Baltimore County), according to the website Red Maryland.

    Matt Adams of Somerset County was elected third vice chairman, defeating the incumbent, Shannon Wright of Baltimore City. Party Secretary Mark Uncapher, a former Montgomery County GOP chairman, was reelected, and the party treasurer, Chris Rosenthal, was unopposed for reelection.

    [email protected]

    Josh Kurtz
    Founding Editor Josh Kurtz is a veteran chronicler of Maryland politics and government. He began covering the State House in 1995 for The Gazette newspapers, and has been writing about state and local politics ever since. He was an editor at Roll Call, the Capitol Hill newspaper, for eight years, and for eight years was the editor of E&E Daily, which covers energy and environmental policy on Capitol Hill. For 6 1/2 years Kurtz wrote a weekly column on state politics for Center Maryland and has written for several other Maryland publications as well. Kurtz regularly gives speeches and appears on TV and radio shows to discuss Maryland politics.