Reisinger Becomes 1st Departing Baltimore City Councilmember to Anoint a Successor

    Baltimore City Councilman Edward C. Reisinger (D) on Wednesday became the first of the city’s three departing councilmembers to bless a potential successor, announcing that he is backing Phylicia Porter in next year’s Democratic primary to replace him.

    Reisinger, who has held the seat for two dozen years, said he would host an event next month in support of Porter, a public health professional and member of the Baltimore City Democratic Central Committee, one of at least five candidates seeking to succeed him in the Southwest Baltimore 10th District.

    “Phylicia Porter has both the background and experience needed to serve the people of South Baltimore,” Reisinger said in a statement, noting that Porter “has been talking to more voters across the district than any other candidate.”

    “Phylicia is familiar with the struggles many in our city face,” he said. “She’ll implement solutions that tackle the root causes of Baltimore’s systemic problems, not the consequences, while also delivering immediate results.”

    Porter, who holds a Masters degree in Public Health from Morgan State University and a Master of Laws from the University of Maryland, Baltimore, currently works with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. In a statement, Porter said she would “seek to live up to Councilman Reisinger’s example of community-focused leadership.”

    Reisinger will host an event for Porter on the evening of Sept. 16 at Baltimore Soundstage.

    Four other Democrats have already filed to run for Reisinger’s 10th District seat: Raekwon “Ray” Conaway, who works for the nonprofit Community Law in Action; Natasha Guynes, founder of HER Resiliency Center, a nonprofit that aids young women at risk; and Kerry Eugene Hamilton I, a retired scholastic basketball coach; and Cynthia D. Hendricks Jones, another member of the Democratic Central Committee.

    With Reisinger, Councilmembers Mary Pat Clarke (D) and Bill Henry (D) already planning to retire, there will be at least three new members on the 15-member Council following the 2020 election. Eight new members were elected in 2016.

    [email protected]

    Josh Kurtz
    Co-founder and Editor Josh Kurtz is the leading chronicler of Maryland politics and government. He began covering the State House in 1995 for The Gazette newspapers, and has been writing about state and local politics ever since. He later became an editor at Roll Call, the Capitol Hill newspaper, and spent eight years at E&E News, an online subscription-only publisher of news websites covering energy and environmental issues. For seven of those years, he led a staff of 20 reporters at E&E Daily, which covers energy and environmental policy on Capitol Hill and in national politics. For 6 1/2 years he wrote a weekly column on state politics for Center Maryland and has written for several other Maryland publications as well. Kurtz has given speeches and appeared on TV and radio shows about Maryland politics through the years.