McCray Elected Chair of Baltimore City Senate Delegation

    Baltimore City’s state senators elected Sen. Cory V. McCray (D) chairman of their delegation on Friday.

    McCray’s election comes as one of his best friends, City Council President Brandon M. Scott (D), is set to be sworn in as mayor in two weeks. McCray was already going to be a key ally for Scott in Annapolis, and the new position will only enhance his ability to do so.

    Sen. Cory V. McCray (D-Baltimore City)

    “I am honored to have the opportunity to lead our delegation over the next two years,” McCray said in a statement. “In our districts — and across Baltimore — we are working together to find solutions to issues plaguing communities. My number one priority will be ensuring that Maryland provides adequate funding for education, infrastructure, public safety and health — especially in the era of COVID-19. In addition to supporting the new mayor, we will work to enhance and modernize the delegation’s operations so that we are innovatively able to connect with our constituents as we battle the pandemic.”

    McCray was elected to the 45th District Senate seat in 2018 after four years in the House of Delegates. He replaces Sen. Antonio L. Hayes (D) as delegation chairman.

    [email protected]

    Josh Kurtz
    Co-founder and Editor Josh Kurtz is the leading chronicler of Maryland politics and government. He began covering the State House in 1995 for The Gazette newspapers, and has been writing about state and local politics ever since. He later became an editor at Roll Call, the Capitol Hill newspaper, and spent eight years at E&E News, an online subscription-only publisher of news websites covering energy and environmental issues. For seven of those years, he led a staff of 20 reporters at E&E Daily, which covers energy and environmental policy on Capitol Hill and in national politics. For 6 1/2 years he wrote a weekly column on state politics for Center Maryland and has written for several other Maryland publications as well. Kurtz has given speeches and appeared on TV and radio shows about Maryland politics through the years.