Dist. 46 Legislators to Run as a Team, But Leave One Slot Open For Now

    Things sure have changed in the four years since lawmakers in the District 46 legislative delegation last announced that they would run together as a team in the Democratic primary.

    The district’s senator, Bill Ferguson, was chair of the Executive Nominations Committee at the time. Del. Luke H. Clippinger was a member of the House Economic Matters Committee. Del. Brooke E. Lierman was completing her first term. And Del. Robbyn T. Lewis was seeking her first full term, after being appointed to her seat in January 2017.

    Today, Ferguson is Senate president. Clippinger is chair of the House Judiciary Committee. Lewis has become one of the legislature’s most vocal advocates for mass transit. And Lierman is running for state comptroller.

    On Tuesday, Ferguson, Clippinger and Lewis announced that they would run together as a ticket in the 2022 Democratic primary — and said that dozens of community leaders from the 46th District representing 24 neighborhoods have already endorsed their reelection bids.

    “Team46’s strength comes from our ability to work as one cohesive unit on behalf of the residents of the 46th Legislative District,” Clippinger said in a statement. “Bill, Robbyn and I each have unique experiences and expertise on a variety of issues ranging from crime reduction and civil rights protections to improving educational outcomes and protecting public health.”

    Lierman’s decision to run for higher office creates an opportunity in the district for other ambitious community leaders. At least three nonincumbent Democrats are vying for a District 46 House seat: Mark Edelson, an attorney and instructor at Goucher College who is president of the Canton Community Association and a member of the Democratic State Central Committee; Vincent Andrews, a nonprofit public health attorney and former teacher; and Augusta Christensen, a Democratic strategist and fundraiser.

    Sean D. Burns, an attorney and and assistant vice president for government relations with the Thurgood Marshall College Fund, is also eyeing the race. He is the nephew of the late Baltimore mayor Clarence “Du” Burns.

    Whether the District 46 incumbents decide to endorse someone later in the primary cycle remains to be seen. Ferguson lamented Lierman’s absence from the ticket, but said, “she will be a tremendous asset for the entire State of Maryland as our next Comptroller.”

    [email protected]

    Josh Kurtz
    Founding Editor Josh Kurtz is a veteran chronicler of Maryland politics and government. He began covering the State House in 1995 for The Gazette newspapers, and has been writing about state and local politics ever since. He was an editor at Roll Call, the Capitol Hill newspaper, for eight years, and for eight years was the editor of E&E Daily, which covers energy and environmental policy on Capitol Hill. For 6 1/2 years Kurtz wrote a weekly column on state politics for Center Maryland and has written for several other Maryland publications as well. Kurtz regularly gives speeches and appears on TV and radio shows to discuss Maryland politics.