Skip to main content
Government & Politics

Moore transition team names policy leaders, adds to steering committee

Democrat Aruna Miller, who will be the first immigrant and woman of color to serve as Maryland’s lieutenant governor, celebrates on election night. Photo by Danielle E. Gaines.

Lt. Gov.-elect Aruna Miller (D), the head of the transition team for Gov.-elect Wes Moore (D), announced Thursday that the transition effort is expanding.

The transition team is adding two new steering committee members and has also identified the people who will lead the Transition Policy Committee. The co-chairs will lead nine policy committees with a total of 208 members.

“This team has deep expertise, an incredible diversity of professional and lived experiences, and a demonstrated commitment to serving all Marylanders,” Miller said in a statement. “Their work will actualize a strong policy agenda that will ensure every Marylander has the opportunity to thrive.”

Miller said that Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando (D) and Joe Gaskins, co-chair of the Maryland Business-Clergy Partnership, will join the transition team’s steering committee, calling them “critical additions.” Miller also appointed the Transition Policy Committee co-chairs. They are:

Education Executive Policy Committee 

  • Charlene Mickens Dukes was the first female President of Prince George’s Community College and former President of the Maryland State Board of Education

  • Jennifer M. Lynch is the Director of Educational Partnership at the Office of the Baltimore County Executive and a member of the Blueprint Accountability and Implementation Board

  • Richard H. Warren, Jr. is a Hazel Professor of Education at the University of Maryland, Eastern Shore, and 2019 Maryland State Teacher of the Year

Climate and Environment Executive Policy Committee

  • Ed Hatcher is the Founder and Senior Consultant of The Hatcher Group and co-editor of the Chesapeake Bay Action Plan blog

  • Sacoby Wilson is the Director of the University of Maryland, College Park School of Public Health’s Center for Community Engagement, Environmental Justice and Health

  • Kim Coble is the Executive Director of the Maryland League of Conservation Voters

Transportation Executive Policy Committee 

  • Debra F. Carter is the former Assistant Secretary to the Maryland Department of Transportation

  • Joe McAndrew is the Vice President of Government Affairs and Infrastructure for the Greater Washington Partnership

  • John D. Porcari is the former United States Deputy Secretary of Transportation and Port Envoy to the White House Supply Chain Disruptions Task Force, and a former Maryland Transportation secretary

Unlocking Opportunity Executive Policy Committee 

  • Joseph T. Jones Jr. is the Founder, President, and CEO of the Center for Urban Families

  • Rachel London is the Executive Director of the Maryland Developmental Disabilities Council

Public Safety Executive Policy Committee

  • Chief Joshua L. Fannon is the Battalion Chief with the Baltimore City Fire Department and President of the International Association of Fire Fighters Local 964 – Baltimore Fire Officers

  • Ganesha Martin is the former Director of the Baltimore City Mayor’s Office of Criminal Justice and current Vice President of Public Policy and Community Affairs for Mark43

  • Lt. Steven Thomas is the Anne Arundel County Crisis Intervention Team Law Enforcement Coordinator and the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation Critical Incident Stress Management Team Coordinator

Jobs and Workforce Development Executive Policy Committee

  • Talib Horne is the Baltimore Civic Site Director at the Annie E. Casey Foundation

  • Gustavo Torres is the Executive Director of CASA of Maryland

  • Christy Wyskiel is the Senior Advisor to the President of Johns Hopkins University for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Housing Executive Policy Committee

  • Miranda Darden-Willems is the Executive Director for the Maryland Affordable Housing Coalition

  • Ruth Ann Norton is the President and CEO of the Green and Healthy Homes Initiative

  • William J. Roberts is the Managing Director for Democracy Policy with the Center for American Progress

Growing Maryland’s Competitiveness Executive Policy Committee 

  • Patrice King Brickman is a member of the Board for Ascend at the Aspen Institute and is the Founder and Managing Director of Inspire Capital, LLC

  • James H. Degraffenreidt, Jr. is the former Chairman of the Maryland State Board of Education and former Chairman of the Board and CEO of WGL Holdings, Inc., the parent company of Washington Gas

Health Care Executive Policy Committee

  • Lisa Brown is the Executive Vice President of 1199 Service Employees International Union for the Maryland and Washington, D.C., region

  • Joshua M. Sharfstein is the former Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene and Vice Dean for Public Health Practice and Community Engagement at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health



Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Moore transition team names policy leaders, adds to steering committee