Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Hogan Makes Recent Delegate Nominations Official

Two new lawmakers will be sworn in to the House of Delegates soon.

Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. announced Thursday that he appointed Faye Martin Howell to represent District 24 and Rachel Muñoz to represent District 33.

Howell was nominated in late October by the Prince George’s County Democratic Central Committee, where she was a member, to replace former Del. Erek L. Barron (D), who was appointed by President Biden appointed as U.S. Attorney for Maryland. Howell worked for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for more than 30 years before her retirement and previously worked as a mathematics teacher for Prince George’s County Public Schools.

Muñoz was selected last month by the Anne Arundel County Republican Central Committee to replace former Del. Michael E. Malone (R), who was appointed by Hogan a Circuit Court judge. She was selected over half a dozen other candidates who sought the nomination. Muñoz is an attorney with Schulte Booth, specializing in aviation law and is working toward her private pilot’s license.

In other appointments announced Thursday, Hogan named Kathleen Diane English to the Circuit Court for Frederick County and Shannon Long Bent to the Queen Anne’s County Board of Education.

“I am pleased to appoint these distinguished Marylanders to serve in their positions across state government,” Hogan said in a statement. “These qualified individuals will fill important roles and functions, and I am confident they will serve our citizens well.”

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Hogan Makes Recent Delegate Nominations Official