Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

District 18, District 12 Slates File for Re-Election

Montgomery County lawmakers from District 18 filed for re-election to the General Assembly on Wednesday and plan to campaign together as the District 18 Democratic Team.

Sen. Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher, and Dels. Alfred C. Carr Jr., Emily Shetty, and Jared Solomon, announced their re-election campaigns along with endorsements from Attorney General Brian E. Frosh (D), U.S. Rep. Jamie B. Raskin (D) and Montgomery County Councilmember Nancy Navarro (D).

“My friends on the District 18 Democratic Team work their hearts out in Annapolis to make our community livable, functional, and breathable,” Raskin said in a statement. “I’m proud to support this group of passionate public servants, my partners in making progress in Maryland.”

The lawmakers also issued a joint statement.

“Every day, we work closely together on behalf of our constituents. United as friends, colleagues, and teammates, we hope to have the opportunity to continue to serve,” they said.

District 18 is a Democratic stronghold. So far, no challengers have filed to run against the incumbents.

District 12 incumbents file

Another slate of incumbents filed to campaign together last week, the lawmakers from District 12, which includes parts of Baltimore and Howard counties.

Sen. Clarence K. Lam (D) and Democratic Delegates Eric Ebersole, Jessica Feldmark and Terri Hill met in Annapolis to file their paperwork last Wednesday.

The lawmakers said they “share a strong value system, commitment, and work ethic” and “are full of anticipation about their future service to District 12  and the State of Maryland.”

After once being competitive, District 12 has become increasingly Democratic in recent years. Christopher J. Feldwick, who has run unsuccessfully for office at least twice before in Howard County, has also filed to become a candidate in the District 12 House Democratic primary.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected]

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
District 18, District 12 Slates File for Re-Election