Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Montgomery County Delegation Re-Elects Leadership

The Montgomery County delegation in the House of Delegates has re-elected its leadership for another year.

Del. Marc Korman (D) will continue as chair for the delegation after a vote at a brief meeting Monday night.

Korman was nominated for re-election by Del. Jheanelle K. Wilkins (D).

“This year has been a true test of leadership during an unprecedented time. …Marc has withstood and exceled in this task and ensured that our delegation stuck together, had clear direction and brought back major wins on both policy and record funding,” Wilkins said.

She also lauded Korman’s coordination with the county’s senate delegation and local leaders during the pandemic.

The nomination was seconded by House Majority Leader Eric G. Luedtke.

Del. Al Carr (D) was also re-elected as the delegation’s vice chair.

In nominating him to the post, Del. Pamela Queen (D) described Carr as “a very calm and steady behind-the-scenes leader who fosters collaborative teamwork.”

Carr’s nomination was seconded by Wilkins.

Both votes were unanimous.

Korman said the delegation “had a great year last year under strange and challenging circumstances.”

He plans to continue with some pandemic-era policies that brought transparency and efficiency to the delegation’s work, but will also work to restore processes like more in-person meetings.

Before the next legislative session, members of the delegation will work on issues including rewriting laws to reflect the new 11-member County Council approved by voters and possible legislation to reconfigure the structure of the county’s school board, where members are elected by county-wide vote to represent smaller districts.

Korman has chaired the county’s 24-member delegation since 2019. Because the delegation has term limits for leadership positions, this will be his last year in the post.

Del. Lesley Lopez (D) was re-elected as chair of the Montgomery County House Democratic Caucus — which includes the entire delegation — and Del. Julie Palakovich Carr was re-elected as vice-chair of the caucus.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Montgomery County Delegation Re-Elects Leadership