Skip to main content
Support us

Maryland Matters Wins 10 Awards from Press Association photo

Nine Maryland Matters reporters and contributing writers were awarded for excellence this week by the Maryland-Delaware-District of Columbia Press Association.

In a virtual ceremony that concluded Friday, Maryland Matters received the following awards in the association’s Division O, for online-only publications:

State Government
First Place: Bruce DePuyt, “When It Comes to Government Openness, Maryland is a ‘Backwater’”

Local Government
First Place: Bruce DePuyt, “In Prince George’s County, Black Women Rule”
Second Place: Bennett Leckrone, After Rejection, Advocates Continue Push to Remove Confederate Talbot Boys Monument”

Public Service
Second Place: Bennett Leckrone, Danielle E. Gaines and Josh Kurtz, “Getting Out the Vote

Second Place: Danielle E. Gaines, “Breaking Down the Blueprint Bill”

First Place: Frank DeFilippo, DeJoy to the World, Your Mail Won’t Come

First Place: Elliot Jaspin, “Empty Plates and Maryland’s Table,” a startling and sobering account of childhood hunger in Maryland.
Second Place: Lisa Nevans Locke and Rosanne Skirble, for their series “Life in Langley Park,” about the challenges faced by a largely immigrant community in Prince George’s County during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Local Columns – Feature or Humor
First Place: Josh Kurtz, “The Political Education of the BSO
Second Place: Alanah Davis, “Alanah Davis: Bengies Drive-In Theater in 2020″

Thanks to our readers for your continuing support of our nonpartisan, nonprofit newsroom.


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Maryland Matters Wins 10 Awards from Press Association