Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Legislative Women’s Caucus Elects New Officers

The Women’s Caucus of the Maryland General Assembly elected new officers before the legislature adjourned last week.

Del. Anne R. Healey (D-Prince George’s), now serving her eighth term, is the new caucus president.

According to a news release from the caucus, “strengthening relationships among women legislators is a priority for President Healey. As a bipartisan and bicameral organization, the Caucus brings together legislators who otherwise might not have the opportunity to get to know each other. Outreach to former women legislators is also planned for 2022.”

The rest of the leadership lineup:

President-Elect: Del. Lauren C. Arikan (R-Harford and Baltimore)

1st Vice President: Del. Lesley J. Lopez (D-Montgomery)

2nd Vice President: Del. Edith J. Patterson (D-Charles)

Secretary: Sen. Adelaide C. Eckardt (R-Middle Shore)

Treasurer: Del. Pamela Queen (D-Montgomery)

1st Member at Large: Del. Nicole A. Williams (D-Prince George’s)

2nd Member at Large: Delegate Brenda J. Thiam (R-Washington)

The Women’s Caucus of Maryland was the first of its kind in the nation, and next year it will be celebrating its 50th anniversary.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected]

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Legislative Women’s Caucus Elects New Officers