Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Hogan Appoints Amprey to House; Howard Co. GOP Wants Novotny for Dist. 9A Vacancy

Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan (R) on Wednesday approved the nomination of attorney Marlon Amprey to the House of Delegates to replace former Del. Nick J. Mosby (D), who was sworn in as Baltimore City Council president last month.

“I am confident that Marlon Amprey will be a strong advocate for constituents in Baltimore City in his new role as delegate,” Hogan said in a statement. “I offer him my sincere congratulations, and will work with him to change Maryland for the better.”

Marlon Amprey

Amprey, who turns 34 later this month, will represent District 40 in Baltimore City. He is an associate at Cole Scholz, a law firm in Maryland and had served as an intern for the late U.S. Rep. Elijah E. Cummings (D-Md.) while attending law school at the University of Pennsylvania. Amprey was also a Teach for America Corps member for four years before pursuing a career in law.

The Baltimore City Democratic Central Committee nominated Amprey from a total of 14 candidates last week. From the seven members of the central committee, Amprey received four votes while Joshua Harris, a union official and former legislative aide, received the other three votes.

“I know what we need for our students, I know what we need to make our government more efficient, and I know what we need for to make our economic system more equitable and to ensure that we have businesses and a thriving community that looks like its citizens,” he told central committee members during his 15-minute public interview.

On the same day Amprey was appointed, he opened a campaign committee that will enable him to raise money for the 2022 election — though state lawmakers are prevented from fundraising for the three-month General Assembly session.

There are currently two other open legislative seats: one once held by former Sen. Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D) in District 27, which covers parts of Calvert, Charles and Prince George’s counties. Miller announced his resignation on Dec. 23 after 45 years in the Senate, citing his poor health as the reason for retirement.

Del. Michael A. Jackson (D-Prince George’s) is a likely replacement for Miller, but Calvert, Charles and Prince George’s Democratic central committees still have to interview applicants to vote on a replacement. Charles County’s Democratic central committee is scheduled to meet on Sunday, while Prince George’s central committee will meet on Monday and Calvert’s central committee is set to meet on Saturday.

The other vacancy is the District 9A seat held by former Del. Warren E. Miller (R), which takes in parts of Howard and Carroll counties. Miller resigned on Dec. 31 after 17 years in the House. The Howard GOP central committee on Wednesday evening advanced the name of Reid J. Novotny, who ran unsuccessfully for the state Senate in 2018, for the vacancy. Carroll County Republicans will vote on Thursday evening.

The 2021 General Assembly session is set to begin on Jan. 13.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Hogan Appoints Amprey to House; Howard Co. GOP Wants Novotny for Dist. 9A Vacancy