Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Legislative Black Caucus Holding Leadership Election Wednesday

On Wednesday, the last day of this year’s 2020 regular General Assembly session, the Legislative Black Caucus will elect leaders for this year’s special session — if there is one — and for 2021.
The current chairman, Del. Darryl Barnes (D-Prince George’s) is being challenged by Del. Edith J. Patterson (D-Charles).
The 1st vice chairman, Del. Benjamin T. Brooks (D-Baltimore County), is being challenged by Del. Melissa Wells (D-Baltimore City).
The 2nd vice chairman, Del. Debra Davis (D-Charles), is being challenged by Del. Gabriel Acevero (D-Montgomery).
The LBC’s Treasurer, Sen. Arthur Ellis (D-Charles), is being challenged by Del. Ron Watson (D-Prince George’s County).
Del. Mike Rogers (D-Anne Arundel), the financial secretary, and Secretary Del. Charlotte Crutchfield (D-Montgomery) are unchallenged.
Candidates spoke on behalf of their candidacies during a closed door meeting on Tuesday morning. Members of the caucus will vote on Wednesday morning.