Skip to main content
Government & Politics

No Surprise: Biden Is Dem Establishment Choice, Convention Filings Show

Milwaukee, home of the 2020 Democratic National Convention. photo

Several leading Maryland Democrats are lining up behind the presidential campaign of former vice president Joe Biden, according to the roster of candidates trying to become delegates to the Democratic National Convention in Milwaukee this summer.

The emergence of Biden as the establishment choice in Maryland is hardly surprising, and matches the national trend.

The filing deadline for candidates interested in appearing on the April 28 Democratic primary ballot to become convention delegates was Friday; but just because they’ve filed to run doesn’t mean they’ll actually be on the primary day ballot. The presidential campaigns must designate their delegate candidates by Feb. 3; those not on the approved list won’t appear on the ballot.

Whether Maryland will be relevant by the time the primary rolls around is another question. The Iowa caucuses kick off the presidential nominating process on Feb. 3. The New Hampshire primary is next, on Feb. 11.

Still, it is instructive to see where leading Democrats in Maryland are landing in the presidential scrum. And it’s worth noting that Maryland’s lone presidential contender, former U.S. Rep. John K. Delaney, who was the very first candidate to enter the race, back in 2017, has less than a handful of delegate candidates running as his supporters.

Here are some of the leading Maryland Democrats who have filed to run as convention delegates:

For former vice president Joe Biden:

Ex-Anne Arundel County Democratic chairman Patrick Armstrong

State Del. Darryl Barnes

Del. Erek Barron

State Sen. Pamela Beidle

Del. Harry Bhandari

Maryland State Education Association President Cheryl Bost

Prince George’s County State’s Attorney Aisha N. Braveboy

Ex-state Sen. James Brochin

Ex-Del. Eric Bromwell

Ex-Del. Galen R. Clagett

Ex-Del. Gene Counihan

Maryland Citizens Health Initiative President Vincent DeMarco

Del. Diane M. Fennell

Del. Wanika Fisher

Annapolis lobbyist Hannah Powers Garagiola

Gabrielle M. Glendening, daughter of ex-Gov. Parris N. Glendening

Sen. Antonio L. Hayes

Del. Anne R. Healey

Del. Shelly L. Hettleman*

Former Rockville mayor Susan R. Hoffmann

Ex-Del. Carolyn J.B. Howard

Senate Majority Leader Nancy J. King

Del. Mary A. Lehman

Annapolis lobbyist Leonard Lucchi**

Baltimore City State’s Attorney Marilyn J. Mosby

Del. Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk

Ex-Washington County Democratic Chairman Peter E. Perini Sr.

Anne Arundel County Councilman Andrew C. Pruski

Del. Dana Stein

Ex-Lt. Gov. Kathleen Kennedy Townsend

Del. Courtney Watson

Del. Karen Lewis Young


For former New York mayor Michael Bloomberg:

Annapolis lobbyist Camille G. Fesche

Sen. Cheryl C. Kagan

Somerset Mayor Jeffrey Z. Slavin


For former South Bend, Ind., mayor Pete Buttigieg:

Del. Benjamin Barnes

Ex-Cumberland mayor Brian K. Grim

Howard County Register of Wills Byron E. Macfarlane

Del. Maggie L. McIntosh

Del. Lily Qi

Ex-Queen Anne’s County commissioner Gene M. Ransom III

Del. Kirill Reznik

Sen. William C. Smith Jr.

Del. Jared Solomon

Ex-Maryland Democratic chairwoman Susan W. Turnbull

Del. Patrick Young


For Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders:

Del. Gabriel Acevero

Prince George’s County Board of Education member Edward Burroughs III

Ex-Talbot County Attorney Michael Pullen

Delegate-nominee Sheila Ruth***

Del. Vaughn Stewart

Ex-Del. Jimmy Tarlau


For Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren:

Maryland Working Families founder Charly Carter

Del. Lorig Charkoudian

Ex-congressional nominee Andrew Duck

Prince George’s County Education Association President Theresa Mitchell Dudley

Sen. Arthur Ellis

Del. Jessica Feldmark

Frederick County Councilwoman Jessica Fitzwater

Montgomery County Councilman Evan Glass

Ex-Montgomery County Democratic chairman Scott Goldberg

Prince George’s County Councilwoman Jolene Ivey

Ex-Del. Barbara Osborn Kreamer

Ex-Baltimore County Democratic chairman Robbie Leonard

House Majority Leader Eric G. Luedtke

Ex-SEIU leader Mark McLaurin

Del. David Moon

Ex-Montgomery County Board of Education member Jill Ortman-Fouse

Ex-Sen. Victor Ramirez

Howard County Councilwoman Christiana M. Rigby

Del. Stephanie Smith

Prince George’s County Councilwoman Deni Taveras

Del. Jen Terrasa

Del. Jheanelle Wilkins

Del. Nicole A. Williams


Running as uncommitted delegates:

Howard County Executive Calvin Ball

Montgomery County Councilman Tom Hucker

Del. Ken Kerr

Sen. Clarence K. Lam

Del. Mike Rogers

Del. Emily Shetty


SOURCE: Maryland State Board of Elections

*Has been nominated to fill a vacancy in the state Senate, but has not been formally appointed

**Mr. Lucchi is a member of the Maryland Matters Board of Directors

***Has been nominated to fill a vacancy in the House of Delegates but has not been formally appointed


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
No Surprise: Biden Is Dem Establishment Choice, Convention Filings Show