Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Cecil, Harford GOP Committees Split Over Replacement for Del. Cassilly

The Republican central committees of Harford and Cecil counties sent two names for Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. (R) to consider to replace former Del. Andrew Cassilly (R-Harford), who resigned recently to join the governor’s administration.

The Harford County GOP forwarded the name of its chairman, Mike Griffith, to succeed Hogan, according to The Dagger, a local news blog. Griffith took over as chairman just a month ago.

The Cecil GOP nominated its former chairman, David Woodruff, to fill the vacancy, according to The Aegis newspaper.

Under state law, when central committees cannot agree on a successor to fill a legislative vacancy, the governor gets to choose one of the committees’ recommended candidates. So Hogan will get to choose between Woodruff and Griffith to replace Cassilly.

A similar situation is occurring in the battle to replace former state Sen. Shirley Nathan-Pulliam (D-Baltimore County) in the 44th District. The Baltimore County Democratic Central Committee has recommended Del. Charles E. Sydnor III (D) while the Baltimore City central committee has advanced the name of Del. Keith E. Haynes (D).

[email protected] 


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected]

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Cecil, Harford GOP Committees Split Over Replacement for Del. Cassilly