Skip to main content
Blog Education

13 Teachers Running for State Board of Education Seat

More than a dozen teachers are vying to become the first teacher-member of the Maryland State Board of Education.

Voting in the election is open to all teachers who held a state teaching certificate on Oct. 1.

The deadline to cast ballots was extended to noon on Nov. 22.

The election is the result of a bill passed by the General Assembly earlier this year that will add a teacher and a parent to the school board next year.

The teacher member candidates (and the districts where they teach) are:

  • Kristy Herring, Anne Arundel County Public Schools
  • Alethia McCullough, Prince George’s County Public Schools
  • Rachel McCusker, Carroll County Public Schools
  • Kenneth Nwocha, Montgomery County Public Schools
  • Crystal Owens, Dorchester County Public Schools
  • Kelsey Pope, Baltimore County Public Schools
  • Jason Ray, Prince George’s County Public Schools
  • Monica Roebuck, Prince George’s County Public Schools
  • Crystal Rufenacht, Harford County Public Schools
  • Melaney Sanchez, Calvert County Public Schools
  • Morgan Showalter, Baltimore City Public Schools
  • Andrea Torres-Blue, Baltimore County Public Schools
  • Michael VanDereedt, Anne Arundel County Public Schools.

The announcement of the election results will be posted on the Maryland State Department of Education website by Dec. 23.

The bill requires Maryland’s governor to appoint the winner of the election among teachers. The nominee will then be subject to confirmation by the Maryland Senate.

The parent member of the board must have a student actively enrolled in a public school. The parent member will be chosen by Gov. Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. (R) from a list of three qualified candidates submitted by the Maryland PTA. That nominee is also subject to confirmation by the Senate.

The new parent and teacher members are expected to join the state board by Jan. 1.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
13 Teachers Running for State Board of Education Seat