Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Reisinger Becomes 1st Departing Baltimore City Councilmember to Anoint a Successor

Baltimore City Councilman Edward C. Reisinger (D) on Wednesday became the first of the city’s three departing councilmembers to bless a potential successor, announcing that he is backing Phylicia Porter in next year’s Democratic primary to replace him.

Reisinger, who has held the seat for two dozen years, said he would host an event next month in support of Porter, a public health professional and member of the Baltimore City Democratic Central Committee, one of at least five candidates seeking to succeed him in the Southwest Baltimore 10th District.

“Phylicia Porter has both the background and experience needed to serve the people of South Baltimore,” Reisinger said in a statement, noting that Porter “has been talking to more voters across the district than any other candidate.”

“Phylicia is familiar with the struggles many in our city face,” he said. “She’ll implement solutions that tackle the root causes of Baltimore’s systemic problems, not the consequences, while also delivering immediate results.”

Porter, who holds a Masters degree in Public Health from Morgan State University and a Master of Laws from the University of Maryland, Baltimore, currently works with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. In a statement, Porter said she would “seek to live up to Councilman Reisinger’s example of community-focused leadership.”

Reisinger will host an event for Porter on the evening of Sept. 16 at Baltimore Soundstage.

Four other Democrats have already filed to run for Reisinger’s 10th District seat: Raekwon “Ray” Conaway, who works for the nonprofit Community Law in Action; Natasha Guynes, founder of HER Resiliency Center, a nonprofit that aids young women at risk; and Kerry Eugene Hamilton I, a retired scholastic basketball coach; and Cynthia D. Hendricks Jones, another member of the Democratic Central Committee.

With Reisinger, Councilmembers Mary Pat Clarke (D) and Bill Henry (D) already planning to retire, there will be at least three new members on the 15-member Council following the 2020 election. Eight new members were elected in 2016.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected].

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Reisinger Becomes 1st Departing Baltimore City Councilmember to Anoint a Successor