Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

Here Are the Lawmakers Who Will Interview the Next State Treasurer

Legislative leaders have named the members of a bipartisan joint committee that will interview the candidates for state treasurer and recommend a nominee.

Senate President Pro Tem Katherine A. Klausmeier (D-Baltimore County) and House Speaker Pro Tem Adrienne A. Jones (D-Baltimore County) will serve as co-chairs of the committee.

The committee will be tasked with holding interviews for those interested in the position in a public hearing next Tuesday. The election of the treasurer will take place a week later in a joint session of the General Assembly.

Treasurer Nancy K. Kopp, who has served in the position since 2002, has applied for reappointment, though her continued presence in the position has been called into question by at least some members of the Legislative Black Caucus, including Majority Whip Talmadge Branch (D-Baltimore City), who is one of the 10 members of the joint committee.

In addition to Klausmeier, Jones and Branch, the other members of the committee are: Sen. Delores G. Kelley (D-Baltimore County), Sen. Nancy J. King (D-Montgomery), Sen. Adelaide C. “Addie” Eckardt (R-Middle Shore), Sen. George C. Edwards (R-Garrett), Del. Kathleen M. Dumais (D-Montgomery), Del. Nicholaus R. Kipke (R-Anne Arundel) and Del. Kathy Szeliga (R-Baltimore County).

The state treasurer is responsible for managing and disbursing state funds including state insurance programs and is the custodian of all stocks, bonds and other investments of the state. The treasurer also serves with the governor and comptroller on the Board of Public Works, which manages the fiscal affairs of the state. The treasurer serves on other boards including the Board of Revenue Estimates, the Board of Maryland State Retirement and Pension Systems, the Board of State Canvassers, and the Maryland Industrial Development Financing Authority.

To be considered for the position, applicants must submit a resume or statement of work experience to Kacey Smith, Committee Staff, Special Joint Legislative Committee to Select the State Treasurer, Department of Legislative Services, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401, no later than 5 p.m. Tuesday.

[email protected]


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our website. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

If you have any questions, please email editor Danielle Gaines at [email protected]

To republish, copy the following text and paste it into your HTML editor.


Creative Commons License AttributionCreative Commons Attribution
Here Are the Lawmakers Who Will Interview the Next State Treasurer