Skip to main content
Blog Government & Politics

More News From the State Senate

While there was absolutely zero drama in the race for the top position, Senate Democrats unanimously renominated Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D-Prince George’s) on Friday to keep the chamber’s top job for the 33rd consecutive year. He’ll win the post formally when the Senate reconvenes on Jan. 9.

“The message from the last election is clear – Marylanders expect Democrats and Republicans to continue to work in a bipartisan fashion for better schools, a cleaner environment, and an economy that works for everybody, and we are prepared to do so in the upcoming legislative session,” Miller said in a statement.

Democrats also named Baltimore County Sen. Katherine A. Klausmeier Senate president pro tem — the person who will preside over the chamber whenever Miller is absent. Klausmeier survived a tough reelection battle against Del. Christian J. Miele (R) to win a fifth term.

At the caucus meeting, Miller also made the following Democratic Caucus leadership announcements:

  • Howard County Sen. Guy J. Guzzone as majority leader.
  • Prince George’s County Sen. James C. Rosapepe as Democratic Caucus chairman.
  • Montgomery County Sen. Susan C. Lee as majority whip.
  • Prince George’s Sen.-elect Obie Patterson as deputy majority whip.
  • Montgomery Sen. Craig Zucker as deputy majority leader.
  • Baltimore City Sen.-elect Cory V. McCray as deputy assistant majority leader.

“This past election brought new energy and ideas into our Caucus and chamber,” Miller said.

[email protected]